Movies | TV | Books | Quotes Easter Eggs | Drink Recipes
[Slipups.com Logo] The Slip-Up ArchiveTM
SLIPUPS.COM
Google
Web slipups.com
Home > Books > E - H > Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Bloopers Add a Slip-Up | Help
   
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - Quidditch Brooms?!?
In the Chapter, "The Quidditch Final", right when the match is starting between Gryffindor and Slytherin, Madam Hooch says "Mount your brooms!", and only 14 brooms fly into the air. Now, in other matches, the 15th broom is the ref, so why isn't there a ref in this match??
Special Requirements:
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban novel, and this website.
Avg. Rating:    2.3 of 10 - (435 votes cast)
Your Rating:   
Contributed By:
Anonymous on 09-06-2000
Reviewed By:
Webmaster

Pictures Click on the thumbnails for a full-size image, or send in your own
Be the first to send us your picture of this Slip-Up!
Comments:
Mindy Doll writes:
Have any of you read "Quidditch through the ages"? It says (I don't know the page and this is paraphrased) 'The ref tells the players to mount their brooms, releases the balls, THEN flies up.' The ref shouldn't leave the ground with the players. And Snape was the ref at the second match (the one that lasted five minutes and where Ron beat up Malfroy) Hermione sat Snape's robe on fire in the first one (where Harry ate the snitch.)
56 of 64 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
snoopy writes:
There's nothing to say madam Hooch wasn't already in the air before she blew her whistle, where she wasn't already in the air at the other matches.Simple.
13 of 15 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Erin writes:
The ref is on a broom- it says so in the 4th book when the ref at the World cup match misses a call because his broom-tail was on fire. But the ref's broom goes up later because he/she has to wait to the players are up to release the balls.
11 of 11 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
snoopy writes:
spysmerf, erm I think your getting things a little muddled- the match at which Hermiony sets fire to Snapes robes, Snape was NOT reffing, he was in the stands.Duh.
7 of 10 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
RonJLow writes:
Either Hooch is ref'ing and hasn't mounted up yet, or the actual ref may be already aloft, or the actual ref hasn't mounted yet.
3 of 5 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Sarah writes:
In the American version it says 15 brooms.
3 of 6 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Helen writes:
Well how the hell is she supposed to see the game then. It says that the stadium was high and still Ron and Hermione had to use binoculars, so if they couldn't see from the stadium, how is the ref going to see from the ground??
3 of 6 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
kari writes:
In the American hard-cover, it's on page 306 and it says fourteen.
3 of 6 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Ryochan writes:
Uh, magic?
1 of 6 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
@ssKicker writes:
In HPATPS and, I think in HPATCOS, it doesn't say anything about the referee being on a broom.
1 of 8 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
MissingNO writes:
There are three possibilities--there wasn't a referee there, the referee was a automatic flying broom, or he transformed into one. I don't know, because I haven't seen a movie or picture of it.
0 of 15 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
J.P. writes:
In Harry Potter and The Philosopher's Stone Snape is the ref in the match between Griffindor and Hufflepuff and he is on the ground. Otherwise Hermione wouldn't have been able to set fire to his robes to stop him from cursing Harry.
1 of 27 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes


Register - My Settings - FAQ - Privacy Policy - About Us - Contact Us