Movies | TV | Books | Quotes Easter Eggs | Drink Recipes
[Slipups.com Logo] The Slip-Up ArchiveTM
SLIPUPS.COM
Google
Web slipups.com
Home > Movies > I - L > Lord of The Rings: Fellowship of The Ring Bloopers Add a Slip-Up | Help
   
Lord of The Rings: Fellowship of The Ring - Where Did Gimli Get the Axe?
During the Council of Elrond, Gimli (the dwarf) hits the ring of power with his axe (which shatters). However, a few moments later, when the fellowship is developing, each race states what they will use to aid frodo. "You have my sword (Aragorn/Strider), You have my box (Legolas), You have my *AXE* (Gimli)." When they say this, they each present the weapon they mentioned. Even Gimli presents his Axe...however, he just ruined his axe a few seconds ago!
Special Requirements:
Avg. Rating:    3.6 of 10 - (815 votes cast)
Your Rating:   
Contributed By:
fjordboy on 01-14-2002
Reviewed By:
Webmaster

Pictures Click on the thumbnails for a full-size image, or send in your own
Be the first to send us your picture of this Slip-Up!
Comments:
spadey writes:
If you look closely, Gimli actually takes the axe from the dwarf NEXT to him, on his right, so the axe that was shattered was not his own. I thought he shattered his own too until I saw it again.
107 of 119 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Lord_of_the_Rings writes:
Gimli always carries 3 axes, ever notice it? Even the action figure does!
65 of 73 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Little D writes:
First of all, Legolas says his bow not his box. Secondly, the axe Gimli used to hit the ring was the axe of the dwarf next to him.
45 of 56 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Jilli writes:
I noticed this too when I saw it and was stumped for awhile, then I found the Fellowship script. Gimli grabs the axe from the dwarf next to him, Trarin or Farin, those are the two next to him, and uses it to destroy the ring. Then, when the fellowship is being formed, Gimli presents HIS axe and says, "You have my axe". (Some friend, isn't he?)
30 of 33 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Tony writes:
I don't know about you... But I wouldn't find myself traveling with just one axe...
31 of 42 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Alicar writes:
I think that Gimli does not use his axe to destroy the ring, but that of the dwarf beside him. (I think it's the right, but I can't be sure.) This would enable him to present his axe when he does.
13 of 19 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Durhai writes:
I, too, thought that this was a slip up until I went back and watched this movie again. If you'll notice when Gimli first appears there is another dwarf with him that has an axe. You can see him holding this second axe throughout the council. I believe that this axe that the second dwarf is holding is the axe that Gimli stands up with and says, "...and my axe...".
5 of 9 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Blue writes:
Gimli doesn't hold up his own axe. The one he has is the one he has "borrowed" off the dwarf next to him.
5 of 10 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Lily writes:
Gimli takes the ax of the dwarf beside him when he stands. You can see him grab it right when he stands up, and then says, "You have my ax".
5 of 10 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Melody writes:
I think he got an axe from another dwarf. He just needed one too show off his skill.
3 of 7 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Alli writes:
OK! The quote from Legolas is "You have my BOW"!!! Not my box!!! And, Gimli does have more than one axe on his belt.
7 of 16 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Sloth writes:
When Gimli tries to destroy the ring he grabs an axe from a "stash" of axes that all of his dwarf buddies have sitting behind them. He either grabbed someone else's axe and tried to destroy the ring or when he said "you have my axe" he grabbed another dwarf's axe
3 of 9 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
TheGhost writes:
I noticed that you emphasized the word AXE when you wrote the whole 'you have my bow' so on and so forth thing. When he said 'And my axe', he didn't literally mean you have his axe. Just, you have his help and his skills along the journey. Gack. I just can't explain it in words.
8 of 19 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Empress writes:
Yeah, I noticed this too, but you know those dwarves, I'm sure they break their axes enough when they're drunk, so they're bound to have extras. Or maybe he stole it from another dwarf.
9 of 22 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
King Me, the Great writes:
Veronica! You probably don't know me, and I certainly don't know you, but I can tell you that Gimli tries to destroy the Ring. I know the axe he is using shatters, although I can't remember whose axe it is... ---KMeTG, posted 18th June 2004
0 of 6 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
manics1 writes:
I believe Gimli had 2 axes. The figure of him comes with 2 different axes
2 of 17 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Maia writes:
Okay, did anyone notice that nearly all of Gimli's axes are...DOUBLE EDGED...honestly. Look in pictures. The point is, Gimli's axe does NOT shatter, merely the head of one side of the axe. Remember that the shaft is made of metal, so I doubt that the shock would destroy that part, as well as the rest of the axe for that matter.
11 of 44 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes


Register - My Settings - FAQ - Privacy Policy - About Us - Contact Us