Movies | TV | Books | Quotes Easter Eggs | Drink Recipes
[Slipups.com Logo] The Slip-Up ArchiveTM
SLIPUPS.COM
Google
Web slipups.com
Home > Books > E - H > Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone/Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Bloopers Add a Slip-Up | Help
   
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone/Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone - Another Chess Mess-Up
In the first Harry Potter book, in the chess scene, Harry declares check mate, however no one before him had announced "check" which a distinct rule in chess. The movie however fixed this and had Ron mention "check" before he was sacrificed.
Special Requirements:
Book One
Avg. Rating:    2.9 of 10 - (254 votes cast)
Your Rating:   
Contributed By:
Anonymous on 12-06-2001
Reviewed By:
Webmaster

Pictures Click on the thumbnails for a full-size image, or send in your own
Be the first to send us your picture of this Slip-Up!
Comments:
Rocky writes:
First, it is not required to say "Check." That is considered a courtesy, in case the opponent hadn't noticed. In tournaments, it is conidered very RUDE to say "Check" because it disturbs the players next to you. Second, a check-mate is not necessarily preceded by a check. A check means the king is under attack, but he can escape; a check-mate means he cannot escape. It is very possible for a game to progress in such a way the the first attack on the king is a check-mate, so there would not be a check.
78 of 81 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
zerutal writes:
Do you have any idea how long the book would be if the author wrote about EVERYTHING that happened?
16 of 25 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
PImpernelPippin writes:
I totally agree: If Ms Rowling had included everything that happened during the course of the term, it would have been as bad as if Peter Jackson put everything into 'The Fellowship of the Ring": songs and Tom Bombadil and the walk to Lorien and the real way they met Merry and Pippin (and did anyone notice that it's a LONG time before Gandalf tells Frodo about the ring? Like, 17 years? That's a bloody LONG time that we just don't care, or need to know, about).
6 of 7 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
golddragon131 writes:
Okay, here's the thing...this isn't a slip up...in fact, all the Harry Potter "slip-ups" aren't. But anyway, this particular one is not because Harry has to move in order to put the king into check-mate. Since that is true, it is fine for the queen to take Ron, as it doesn't expose the king to another piece. And, Ron was probably putting the king in check, so the queen had to take him...even though it doesn't expressly say that, it can be inferred by the other "player's" actions.
3 of 12 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
NitPicker writes:
You’re talking about a pin. You can’t move a pinned piece because you would be putting your own king in danger. That DOESN'T count in that situation because Harry not only took a piece, but he also moved out of the rank/diagonal SO THERE WAS NO PIN!
1 of 9 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
huero_grande writes:
This is still a slip up(I mention why on the first chess post above) but I'll explain here also. If Ron does say "check" by the rules of chess the Queen cannot take out Ron's Knight because that leaves the King exposed to Harry and the rules of chess state you cannot move a chess piece that will leave the King exposed for Checkmate. So when Ron calls for check the King would move himself out of Check or block Ron(without leaving himself exposed). If he had no move then the game is over and therefore Ron wouldn't be sacrificed. But then there's no drama in that.
3 of 20 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes


Register - My Settings - FAQ - Privacy Policy - About Us - Contact Us