Movies | TV | Books | Quotes Easter Eggs | Drink Recipes
[Slipups.com Logo] The Slip-Up ArchiveTM
SLIPUPS.COM
Google
Web slipups.com
Home > Movies > E - H > Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone/Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Bloopers Add a Slip-Up | Help
   
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone/Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone - Check-Mate!
In the chess game, Hermione takes her position as a Queen side castle on a black square. She should be standing on a white square
Special Requirements:
Avg. Rating:    3.5 of 10 - (386 votes cast)
Your Rating:   
Contributed By:
Jabberwocky on 01-08-2002
Reviewed By:
Webmaster

Pictures Click on the thumbnails for a full-size image, or send in your own
Be the first to send us your picture of this Slip-Up!
Comments:
Ron writes:
I think this is not a slip-up. It clearly shows in the movie that they are playing black (in the books they also play black). The black queen's initial square should indeed be black.
44 of 52 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Abby writes:
In the game of chess, the queen must be placed on its own color. So, a black queen would go on a black square, and a white queen would go on a white square. Therefore, Hermione was on the right square. (I play chess quite often, so I know this is true)
26 of 29 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Maverick writes:
It's true she's on the wrong square. you see it is quite simmple really: she is queen side castle of the black team, queens stand on their collor square which the queen is doing in the movie, the the bishop is on white then the night is on black and what comes after the night? THE ROOK. so you see the rook should be on the white square.
4 of 5 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
isisamunra writes:
Hermione stood on the correct square. After Ron directed them to their squares and prepared to begin the game, he says, "White moves first," and a piece moves forward from a white square on the opposite side of the board. Then there is the discussion as to whether or not it was a "real" wizard's chess game. So Hermione was correct in starting on a black square.
2 of 3 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes
Lonewolf writes:
If you go to the beginning of the scene, it clearly shows an empty white square where the castle should be. Hermione then walks to and stops on a white square. Later in the scene, she is shown standing on a black square as if Ron moved her during the game.
2 of 4 people found this comment helpful. Did you? Yes


Register - My Settings - FAQ - Privacy Policy - About Us - Contact Us